Structure de l'Ordre : Denis Pelletier

A Word from the President

Welcome to the website of OPPQ (Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec).

Physiotherapy has a lot to contribute to Quebec’s healthcare system, thanks to the dedication and professionalism of those who practice it.

Our role as a professional order is to guide our members and ensure they provide you with top quality care and services. Our main mission is to protect the public. You can call on the Order if you feel a physiotherapist or physical rehabilitation therapist you consulted behaved inappropriately or if you feel you were not provided with quality service.

OPPQ is also responsible helping these professions advance. Our objective is to promote our members’ abilities and think about how to optimize health care in Quebec.

As president, I promise to do all I can to achieve our Order’s mission of ensuring residents of Quebec receive safe, high quality care. I am also confident that our members’ ongoing efforts to stay on top of ever-evolving professional knowledge and practices will address the needs and concerns of their patients.

 Enjoy exploring our website!

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors (BoD) consists of 16 members: 12 elected members and 4 members appointed by Office des professions du Québec. In addition to the chair, 7 are physiotherapists and 4 are physical rehabilitation therapists. The chair and board members are elected or appointed for renewable three-year terms. OPPQ members elect the chair by popular vote.

The BoD oversees the overall administration of OPPQ and ensures compliance with the Professional Code and Regulations that govern OPPQ and its members. In particular, it oversees entry into and practice of the profession.

The Executive Committee handles OPPQ’s day-to-day business and exercises the powers conferred upon it by the BoD

Note: Members identified by an asterisk (*) are also members of OPPQ’s Executive Committee.

Président

  • Denis Pelletier, pht, M. Sc.*

Administrateurs physiothérapeutes élus

  • Chantal Besner | Administratrice physiothérapeute Montréal (mai 2019)*
  • Tina Del Duca | Administratrice physiothérapeute Montréal (mai 2019)
  • Simon Deslauriers | Administrateur physiothérapeute Capitale-Nationale et Mauricie (mai 2020)
  • Josée Lapointe | Administratrice physiothérapeute Montérégie (mai 2020)
  • Sylvie Marchand | Administratice physiothérapeute Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, Outaouais, Abitibi-Témiscamingue, Côte-Nord et Nord-du-Québec (mai 2021)
  • Yannick Tousignant-Laflamme | Administrateur physiothérapeute Bas-Saint-Laurent, Estrie, Gaspésie-Iles-de-la-Madeleine, Chaudière-Appalaches et Centre-du-Québec (mai 2021)
  • Frédéric Wellens | Administrateur physiothérapeute Laval, Lanaudière, Laurentides (mai 2019)*

Administrateurs thérapeutes en réadaptation physique élus

  • Mélissa Adams | Administratrice T.R.P. Montréal et Laval (mai 2021)
  • Claudia Bouchard | Administratrice T.R.P. Mauricie, Outaouais, Abitibi-Témiscamingue, Côte-Nord, Nord-du-Québec, Lanaudière et Laurentides (mai 2019)
  • Richard Brault | Administrateur T.R.P. Bas-Saint-Laurent, Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, Capitale-Nationale, Gaspésie-Iles-de-la-Madeleine (mai 2021)
  • Pierre-Yves Lauzon | Administrateur T.R.P. Estrie, Montérégie et Centre-du-Québec (mai 2020)*

Administrateurs nommés

  • Louise Dépatie
  • Dominique Martinet
  • Michel Tourangeau*
  • Jean Vachon

Committees

OPPQ coordinates a number of committees that member physiotherapists and PRTs sit on. These committees, which handle various OPPQ activities, are a way for members to get involved and actively help OPPQ and its professions advance.

Admission Committee

The Admission Committee assesses applications to join OPPQ. It also handles requests from applicants trained outside Quebec and makes recommendations to the Executive Committee regarding degrees and training OPPQ should recognize as equivalent.

Review Committee (Admission)

If applicants are not satisfied with a decision concerning their request to have a degree or training recognized as equivalent, they can request a review. The Review Committee’s job is to review the Executive Committee’s decisions.

Training Committee

The Advisory Committee examines issues related to the quality of the initial training physiotherapists and PRTs receive, in keeping with professional practice.

Governance Committee

Governance includes all rules and processes related to managing and leading OPPQ. The Governance Committee drafts the rules and procedures that enable the Board of Directors (BoD) to carry out its duties. It also organizes and coordinates the identification, recruitment, appointment, and representation of directors, apart from the chair.

Finance and Audit Committee

The Finance and Audit Committee reviews the policies and processes tied to OPPQ’s financial management and expenditures to ensure they are effective. Following the financial audit, the committee reviews the financial statements and ensures that the recommendations made are implemented. The committee also reviews OPPQ’s budget and ensures it is in line with OPPQ’s mission and objectives so it can make recommendations to the BoD.

Human Resources Committee

The Human Resources Committee assists the Board of Directors with certain tasks, such as hiring, evaluation, remuneration, and succession planning for members of OPPQ’s management team and other employees.

OPPQ Clinical Research Fund Steering Committee

This committee advises OPPQ’s governing bodies on decisions regarding OPPQ’s clinical research fund, such as what the fund’s major scientific and budgetary strategies should be.

OPPQ Clinical Research Grants and Awards Evaluation Committee

This committee establishes and maintains a transparent and thorough evaluation procedure for scholarship and grant applications, reviews applications, and makes appropriate recommendations to OPPQ’s governing bodies regarding the annual awarding of grants and scholarships from the Physiotherapy Clinical Research Fund.

Advisory Committee on Spinal and Joint Manipulation

This committee processes spinal and joint manipulation waiver requests.

Review Committee on Spinal and Joint Manipulation

This committee manages requests to review spinal and joint manipulation certifications.

Our Team

President

Denis Pelletier, PT, M.Sc.
OPPQ President
Chair of the Board of Directors
Chair of the Executive Committee
dpelletier@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 227

Office of the Secretary and General Manager

Claude Laurent, Notary, Fellow Adm.A.
OPPQ Secretary and General Manager
Information Access Officer
claurent@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 236

Caroline Forant
Assistant to the Secretary and General Manager
cforant@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 226

Sophie Dumont
Assistant to the Secretary and General Manager
sdumont@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 254

Admission Committee

Uriel Pierre, PT, M.Sc.
Deputy registrar for admissions and Inspector
upierre@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 245

Julie Desrosiers
Admission Assistant
jdesrosiers@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 243

Legal Department

Marie-France Salvas
Lawyer
Director of Legal Services
Secretary of the Disciplinary Council
Illegal Practice Manager
msalvas@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 246

Daphné Thériault de Carufel
Lawyer
Assistant Secretary of the Disciplinary Council
dtheriault@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 250

Julie Dubuc
Legal Services Assistant
jdubuc@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 239

Office of the Syndic

Louise Gauthier, PT, LL.M.
Syndic
Information Access Officer
lgauthier@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 228

Diane Breton, PT
Assistant Syndic
dbreton@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 222

Judith Brillant, PRT, B.Sc.
Assistant Syndic
jbrillant@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 249

Régis Paillé, PRT
Assistant Syndic
rpaille@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 263

Lise Tremblay
Assistant to the Office of the Syndic
ltremblay@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 251

Jean-Philippe Boivin, pht
Assistant Syndic
jpboivin@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 429

Department of Professional Development and Quality Assurance

Sandy Sadler, PT, MPM, PMP
Director of Professional Development and Quality Assurance
ssadler@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 244

Mélanie Benoit, PRT, CAT (c)
Project Manager and Inspector
mbenoit@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 230

Marjolaine Lajoie, PT
Project Manager
mlajoie@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 242

Bruno Trudel, PT, MBA
Project Manager
btrudel@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 266

Geneviève Angers, PRT 
Project Manager  and Inspector
gangers@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 229

Justine Couturier-Des Rochers, PRT
Inspector and Case Manager, Department of Professional Development and Quality Assurance
Professional Inspection Committee Secretary
jcouturier@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 234

Yolanda Baggio, PT 
Inspector
ybaggio@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 233

Isabelle Lapierre, PT 
Inspector
ilapierre@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 264

Marie-Josée Gagnon, PT 
Inspector
mjgagnon@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 421

Sylvie Bérard
Assistant, Department of Professional Development and Quality Assurance
sberard@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 238

Rosane Bigras
Assistant, Department of Professional Development and Quality Assurance
rbigras@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 235

Karine Ethier
Assistant, Department of Professional Development and Quality Assurance
kethier@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 225

Communications Department

Emmanuelle Giraud
Director of Communications
egiraud@oppq.qc.ca – ext. 247

Marie-Claude Clermont
Internal Communications Advisor
mcclermont@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 223

Marine Pannier
Web Communications and Social Media Advisor
mpannier@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 232

Helene Brosseau 
Secretary/Receptionist
hbrosseau@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 221

Administrative Services Department

Dominique Serre, BAA 
Director of Administrative Services
dserre@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 224

Lyne L’Archevêque
Administrative Assistant
llarch@oppq.qc.ca — ext. 231