Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec

Corporation professionnelle des physiothérapeutes du Québec (CPPQ) was created in 1973 with the adoption of the Professional Code. Since that time, the title “physiotherapist” has been reserved. CPPQ replaced Les physiothérapeutes de la province du Québec Inc., which was founded in 1961. In 1994, following the reform of the Professional Code, all professional bodies became professional orders. In 2003 physical rehabilitation therapists (P.R.T.) were brought into the Quebec professional system when theyjoinedOrdre des physiothérapeutes du Québec, which was subsequently renamedOrdre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec.

The Quebec professional system

The Quebec professional system as we know it today emerged in 1973 with the advent of the Professional Code and the institutions created by it. Lawmakers invested professional orders with certain responsibilities by instituting a system largely based on the principle of self-management of professions. However, the government could not delegate its responsibility to protect the public without first establishing a regulatory and supervisory mechanism. To supervise the professional system and ensure all orders satisfactorily fulfilled their mandate to protect the public, the government set up an independent agency, Office des professions du Québec, with the authority to intervene in the affairs of the orders and make recommendations to the government.

The government also provided a check on the system by designating that a minister be specifically responsible for applying the professional laws (a function currently assumed by the Minister of Justice). Lastly, the government gave the orders a collective voice by establishing the Québec Interprofessional Council.

Source: Office des professions du Québec