The president is responsible for providing general oversight of Ordre professional de la physiothérapie du Québec activities, implementing strategic guidelines approved by the board of directors, and fulfilling the duties entrusted to the Order by the Professional Code. The president sees to the development of the Order’s policy and administrative strategy, represents the Order and the profession in Quebec social, political, and scientific circles, and promotes access to quality services for the public and for members through his or her initiatives and wise use of the Order’s resources.  He or she provides leadership to physiotherapists and physical rehabilitation therapists and develops a network of contacts in various environments to foster their social and professional involvement. The president also promotes the Order and the profession outside Quebec with a view to fostering international ties and relations.

Denis Pelletier 
Physiotherapist, M.Sc.
Graduate in sports physiotherapy

After completing physical rehabilitation therapy training in 1986, Mr. Pelletier went on to graduate magna cum laude in physiotherapy from the University of Ottawa in 1991. In 2011 he earned a Master’s degree in anthropokinetics at Université de Sherbrooke and was named to the faculty honor roll.

Mr. Pelletier also obtained a professional development certificate in college-level teaching in 2006.

The recipient of a number of scholarships, Mr. Pelletier has also been honored with several awards, including the Association canadienne française pour l’avancement des sciences Award in 1995 and the Corporation professionnelle des physiothérapeutes du Québec Clinical Excellence Award in 1991.

A clinician for 22 years now, he served as an instructor at the School of Rehabilitation in the Faculty of Health Sciences at Université de Sherbrooke, taught in the Department of Physical Rehabilitation Techniques at Cégep de Sherbrooke, and has been an OPPQ trainer since 2005. In addition to teaching, Mr. Pelletier has also contributed to clinical research projects. He was a member of the OPPQ board of directors for six years (2006–2013), including two years as vice chair (2009–2011), and has also served on the Order’s admission (2003–2006) and training committees (2004–2005).

He has been president of OPPQ since May 30, 2014.